SHADO
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register

News:
Page Index Toggle Pages: [1] 2  Add Poll Send Topic
Hot Topic (More than 10 Replies) Female SHADO officers (Read 6643 times)
Librarian
IAC Member

I may be blonde but...

Female SHADO officers
Aug 19th, 2011 at 2:26pm
Print Post  
This has been floating around my brain for a while.
In the RL US military (as of 10 years ago) calling a female officer  "sir" is considered an insult. Her proper title is "ma'am".

In Destruction, the Sky-Diver captain calls Lake "sir" and she doesn't seem to react to it.

Was this an intended insult that she ignored or didn't pick up on, OR, like Star Fleet, are all SHADO officers, regardless of gender, called "sir" as part of SHADO's culture?

If you only have one solution to a problem - you're not trying.

IP Logged

Neesierie
Colonel

Straker, somehow it's
always about you.

Re: Female SHADO officers
Reply #1 - Aug 19th, 2011 at 2:44pm
Print Post  
I've run across that too, Deb.  As a writer, I want to get the terminology right (except when I deliberately want it off), but that particular title gets it from both sides.  Some people find it offensive to be called "sir" when they're female.  Others find it offensive to be called "ma'am" when they're an officer.  Who knows which is the more acceptable?

For my own stories, I usually call them whichever title works for the character doing the talking.  Such as, a captain who's been supplanted by Col. Lake on an important mission would probably call her "sir", since he's irritated with her for taking over his job.  (At least, that's how I play that scene in Destruction.)  He sees her as an officer first and a female second.  But another crewman (one who finds her physically attractive perhaps) would call her "ma'am", since he would see her as female first and officer second.  It works for me, but good luck on getting a definite say one way or the other from official channels.  Wink

The sky is not the limit; nor are the stars.
IP Logged